Insurance guide, not financial advice. Prices and policy terms come from public sources and change often, so check the details of your own policy. Last reviewed October 22, 2026. How we research
In this guide
Quick answer
There’s no single best dog insurance; the right one depends on your dog’s age, breed and history. Based on each insurer’s published terms, these are our picks for the six most common needs. The average U.S. accident-and-illness policy for a dog cost $836 a year in 2025, about $70 a month.
| Best for | Insurer | Why | Main catch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Long-term illness and older dogs | Trupanion | Per-condition deductible, 90% reimbursement, no payout limits, pays some vets at checkout, and prices don’t rise just because your dog ages | No exam fees; enroll before age 14 |
| Unlimited payouts, simple setup | Healthy Paws | Annual deductible, unlimited annual limit available, most claims processed in about 2 days | No exam fees; hip dysplasia only if enrolled before age 6 |
| Most built-in extras | Fetch | Exam fees, dental disease in all adult teeth, behavioral care up to $1,000 a year; no upper age limit | 6-month orthopedic wait (waivable for knee injuries) |
| Customizing and senior dogs | Embrace | Deductibles from $100 to $1,000; full coverage for dogs under 15, accident-only after | 180-day orthopedic wait for dogs (reducible with an exam); exam fees are an add-on |
| Low monthly budget | Lemonade | Base policies from $10 a month, about half of claims paid instantly | No unlimited limit; exam fees and dental are add-ons |
| Exam fees and no age cap | ASPCA | Exam fees included, no upper enrollment age, unlimited annual limit available, 10% multi-pet discount | 14-day wait for accidents as well as illnesses |
Last verified: October 2026. Sources: each insurer’s own website and comparison pages; NAPHIA State of the Industry 2026. Picks are our judgment from published terms, not paid placements.
Always get at least three quotes for your own dog. Prices depend on breed, age and ZIP code, so a ranking by price would be meaningless without your details.

How we compared them
We compared six major U.S. insurers on the policy terms that decide what you actually get back for a dog, using each company’s own pages. Where comparison sites disagreed with an insurer, we used the insurer’s version.
What we looked at:
- How the payout works: deductible type (annual or per condition), reimbursement options and annual limit.
- When coverage starts: accident, illness and orthopedic waiting periods, and whether an exam can shorten them.
- What’s excluded: exam fees, pre-existing and curable conditions, the knee and ligament rules that matter most for dogs.
- Who can enroll: age limits and exam requirements.
- Extras: dental, behavioral care, alternative therapies, wellness add-ons, multi-pet discounts.
- Price signals: market averages and the prices insurers publish themselves.
What we didn’t do: we didn’t collect our own quotes or invent “sample” prices, and we don’t give star ratings. Prices depend on your dog’s breed, age and ZIP code. A table of made-up quotes would mislead you more than help.
If you’re new to how deductibles, reimbursement and limits interact, start with how pet insurance works, then see our guides to deductibles, reimbursement rates and annual limits.
Coverage compared, side by side
The biggest differences are in the deductible type, exam fees and the orthopedic rules. Those three decide what you get back on the big dog bills: ER visits, knee surgery and long-term illness.
How each one pays
| Insurer | Deductible | Reimbursement | Annual limit | Exam fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trupanion | Per condition, once per lifetime; $0–$1,000 | 90% | No annual or lifetime limit | Not covered |
| Healthy Paws | Annual | Several options | $5,000, $7,000 or unlimited (can’t be raised later) | Not covered |
| Embrace | Annual, $100–$1,000 | 70%, 80% or 90% | You choose; no lifetime limit | Optional add-on |
| Lemonade | Annual: $100, $250, $500 or $750 | 70%, 80% or 90% | $5,000–$100,000; no unlimited option | Optional add-on |
| ASPCA | Annual: $100, $250 or $500 | 70%, 80% or 90% | Unlimited available | Included |
| Fetch | Annual (most common: $300) | Up to 90% | Most common: $10,000 | Included, up to $250 per visit |
When coverage starts, and what stays excluded
| Insurer | Accidents / illnesses | Orthopedic wait | Cured condition covered again after | Knee and ligament rule | Enrollment age |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trupanion | 5 / 30 days | 30 days | Never | A recurrence of a pre-coverage injury is pre-existing | Before age 14 |
| Healthy Paws | 15 / 15 days | Hip dysplasia 12 months (30 days in 16 states) | 365 days | Other cruciate excluded if one was injured first | Hip dysplasia covered only if enrolled before 6 |
| Embrace | Not stated / 14 days | 180 days for dogs; shortened by an exam | 12 months (“may”) | Other side excluded | Under 15 for full coverage |
| Lemonade | Not stated / 14 days | 30 days | 12 months, most states | Knee and ligament issues never count as cured | Depends on breed |
| ASPCA | 14 / 14 days | Varies by policy | 180 days | Any prior knee or ligament issue excludes future ones | No upper limit |
| Fetch | None / up to 15 days | 6 months; waivable for knee injuries | 1 year | Other cruciate excluded | 6 weeks and up, no upper limit |
Sources: Trupanion; Healthy Paws; Embrace; Lemonade; ASPCA Pet Health Insurance; Fetch; checked September 2026. Terms vary by state and policy version.
For dogs, the knee rules deserve a close look. Cruciate surgery (TPLO) costs $3,500 to $6,000 per knee, and every insurer here limits cover for a knee problem that started before the policy. See pre-existing conditions, waiting periods and how insurers handle TPLO.
What dog insurance costs
The market average for a dog was $836 a year in 2025, but the prices insurers publish range from about $10 to $70 a month, depending on breed, age, location and settings.
| Price signal | Dog | Source |
|---|---|---|
| U.S. average, accident and illness (2025) | $836 a year (about $70 a month) | NAPHIA |
| U.S. average, accident-only (2025) | $190 a year | NAPHIA |
| U.S. average, insurance with wellness (2025) | $1,414 a year | NAPHIA |
| Embrace, typical range (2026) | $20–$70 a month | Embrace |
| Fetch, average | $35 a month (most common setup: $10,000 limit, $300 deductible, 80%) | Fetch |
| Lemonade, average customer | About $48 a month; base policies from $10 | Lemonade |
| Lemonade example: 4-year-old Goldendoodle, Chicago | About $61 a month | Lemonade |
Insurers’ own averages reflect their own customers and settings, so they aren’t a like-for-like comparison.
Breed changes the price a lot. Embrace published these sample monthly premiums for 3-year-old male dogs in Texas with a $5,000 annual limit (May 2025):
| Breed | Sample monthly premium |
|---|---|
| French Bulldog | $35.85 |
| German Shepherd | $23.30 |
| Golden Retriever | $23.30 |
| Chihuahua | $11.16 |
Source: Embrace, “How much is pet insurance.” Your price will differ with age, location, deductible and limit.
Watch what happens as your dog ages. Premiums typically rise as pets get older. Trupanion says its rate “will not increase just because your pet gets older,” though it can change with local vet costs. Ask every insurer how its prices change with age before you compare starting prices. For what drives the price, see how much pet insurance costs per month and why premiums go up.
The six insurers in brief
Trupanion: best for long-term illness and older dogs
What stands out: a per-condition deductible you pay once for your dog’s lifetime, 90% reimbursement and no annual or lifetime limit. VetDirect Pay lets participating hospitals bill Trupanion at checkout. Its pricing promise says premiums won’t rise just because your dog gets older.
Watch for: exam fees and taxes aren’t covered, the illness wait is 30 days and pre-existing conditions are never covered. Behavioral care and alternative therapies are add-ons. You need to enroll before age 14.
Healthy Paws: best for unlimited payouts with a simple setup
What stands out: an annual deductible, an unlimited annual limit option and most claims processed in about 2 days. It says it places no restrictions on hereditary and congenital conditions, includes alternative care, and cures pre-existing conditions after 365 days.
Watch for: no exam fees, a 12-month hip dysplasia wait in most states and hip dysplasia cover only for dogs enrolled before age 6. The limit you pick can never be raised.
Fetch: best for built-in extras
What stands out: exam fees (up to $250 a visit), dental disease in all adult teeth with no sublimit, and behavioral care up to $1,000 a year are included. It has no upper age limit and averages $35 a month.
Watch for: a 6-month orthopedic wait (waivable for knee injuries with an exam within 180 days), and claims that take up to about 10 days.
Embrace: best for customizing and senior dogs
What stands out: deductibles from $100 to $1,000, 70% to 90% reimbursement and full coverage for dogs under 15, with accident-only cover after that. An early orthopedic exam can cut the 180-day orthopedic wait. Wellness Rewards is an optional budgeting add-on.
Watch for: exam fees and dental are add-ons, and the orthopedic wait covers IVDD, cruciate injury, luxating patella and hip dysplasia.
Lemonade: best for a low monthly budget
What stands out: base policies from $10 a month, deductibles from $100 to $750, and about half of eligible claims paid instantly, the rest typically within 5 days.
Watch for: no unlimited annual limit, and exam fees, dental and behavioral care are add-ons. Knee and ligament problems never count as cured, and age eligibility depends on breed.
ASPCA: best for exam fees and older enrollees
What stands out: exam fees included, no upper enrollment age, an unlimited annual limit option and a 10% discount for each additional pet. A cured condition can be covered again after only 180 days.
Watch for: a 14-day wait for accidents as well as illnesses, and any knee or ligament problem before coverage excludes future ones.
Sources: each insurer’s website and published comparison pages, checked September 2026.
Which one fits your dog
Match the policy to your dog’s biggest risk, then compare prices among the two or three that fit.
| Your dog | What to prioritize | Good fits | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Puppy of a large or active breed | Short or waivable orthopedic wait; hip and knee cover | Fetch, Embrace (with the early exam), Healthy Paws (enroll before 6 for hips) | Knee and hip problems are expensive and excluded if they start before coverage |
| Breed prone to lifelong conditions | Per-condition deductible, high or no limit | Trupanion, Healthy Paws (unlimited option) | One chronic condition can run for years |
| Senior dog | No upper age limit or a high one; predictable pricing | ASPCA, Fetch (no upper limit), Embrace (under 15), Trupanion (enroll before 14) | Some insurers restrict older dogs; premiums often rise with age |
| Dog with a past problem | Short “cured” period, clear knee rule | ASPCA (180 days), Healthy Paws, Embrace, Lemonade, Fetch (about 12 months) | Trupanion never covers pre-existing conditions |
| Frequent vet visits | Exam fees included | ASPCA, Fetch | Exam fees are excluded at Trupanion and Healthy Paws and an add-on at Embrace and Lemonade |
| Tight budget | Low premium, higher deductible | Lemonade, or an accident-only plan (average $190 a year) | Keeps cover for big emergencies |
| Several pets | Multi-pet discount | ASPCA (10% per additional pet) | Savings add up across pets |
Sources: insurers’ websites; NAPHIA State of the Industry 2026.
Before you buy:
- Get quotes from three insurers with the same deductible, reimbursement and limit.
- Read the sample policy’s orthopedic, bilateral and pre-existing sections.
- Ask how the premium changes as your dog ages.
- Book a vet exam in the first two weeks if it can shorten a waiting period.
If you’re still deciding whether insurance is worth it for your dog, see is pet insurance worth it, and for a cruciate-prone breed, does pet insurance cover TPLO.
Best pet insurance for a puppy
For a puppy, the best policy is the one you buy before any problem shows up. Anything your puppy has or shows signs of before coverage starts is pre-existing, and the most expensive dog conditions (hip dysplasia, knee ligament tears, slipped discs) are usually excluded if they appear during the orthopedic waiting period. So compare the orthopedic rules first and the price second. Our guide to when to get pet insurance for a puppy lines up the waiting periods with your puppy’s first year.
| What to check | Why it matters for a puppy | How the six compare |
|---|---|---|
| Orthopedic waiting period | Hip, knee and spine problems found in this window stay excluded for life | Lemonade 30 days; Fetch 6 months, waivable for knee injuries with an exam; Embrace 180 days for IVDD, cruciate injury, luxating patella and hip dysplasia, reducible in some states with an orthopedic exam; Healthy Paws 12 months for hip dysplasia (30 days in some states) |
| Hip dysplasia age rule | Large-breed puppies are the ones that need it | Healthy Paws covers hip dysplasia only if your dog is enrolled before age 6; Trupanion lists hip dysplasia among covered breed conditions |
| Illness and accident waits | Puppies swallow things and get sick early | Fetch: no accident wait, illness up to 15 days; Healthy Paws 15 days; ASPCA 14 days for both; Lemonade 14 days for illness |
| Routine care | Vaccines and spay or neuter aren’t covered by accident-and-illness plans | Lemonade’s Puppy preventative package covers a routine spay or neuter, where available; most others sell wellness add-ons |
| Earliest enrollment | The earlier you enroll, the less can count as pre-existing | Fetch from 6 weeks; check the others’ sample policies, which vary by state |
Sources: Lemonade FAQ; Fetch accident and illness coverage; Embrace orthopedic waiting period; Healthy Paws FAQ; ASPCA Pet Health Insurance; Trupanion dog insurance. Last verified October 2026.
Our pick for most puppies: enroll in the first weeks, book the vet exam that shortens the orthopedic wait if your insurer offers one, and choose a reimbursement and deductible you could live with on a $5,000 bill. A puppy’s first-year spay or neuter is a planned cost, so budget for it separately: see neuter costs, spay costs and whether insurance covers spay and neuter.
Best pet insurance for dogs at risk of hip dysplasia
No insurer covers hip dysplasia that was diagnosed or showing signs before your policy started. For breeds prone to it, such as German Shepherds, Labradors and Golden Retrievers, the only way to get it covered is to insure your dog young and get through the waiting period first. Trupanion’s breed pages put a hip replacement at up to $7,000 per hip. Surgery is where the bill gets big, and dog hip dysplasia surgery costs vary most by procedure, from FHO to a total hip replacement.
| Insurer | Hip dysplasia rule |
|---|---|
| Trupanion | Listed as a covered breed condition; per-condition deductible paid once; no payout limit |
| Healthy Paws | Covered only if enrolled before age 6; 12-month waiting period for pets enrolled at age 5 or younger (30 days in some states, waivable after a full exam) |
| Embrace | Excluded if it appears in the first 180 days; reducible in some states with an orthopedic exam. If one hip is diagnosed after coverage starts, the other side is covered too |
| Lemonade | 30-day orthopedic waiting period |
| Fetch | 6-month orthopedic waiting period |
| ASPCA | Check the sample policy for your state |
Sources: Trupanion dog insurance; Healthy Paws FAQ; Embrace coverage FAQ and orthopedic waiting period; Lemonade FAQ; Fetch waiting period. Last verified October 2026.
Hip dysplasia often affects both hips, so read the bilateral rule too: at Embrace, for example, if one side was a problem before coverage, the other side isn’t covered either. Knees work the same way at most insurers; see pre-existing conditions and TPLO surgery cost.
The bottom line
For most dogs, the choice comes down to three questions. Do you want exam fees covered? How does the insurer treat knees and hips? Do you want a per-condition or an annual deductible? Trupanion suits long-term illness, Healthy Paws unlimited payouts, Fetch built-in extras, Embrace customization, Lemonade a low budget and ASPCA exam fees with no age cap. Get at least three quotes with the same settings and enroll while your dog is young.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best pet insurance for dogs?
It depends on your dog. Based on published terms, Trupanion is strong for long-term illness, Healthy Paws for unlimited payouts, Fetch for built-in extras such as exam fees and dental, Embrace for customization, Lemonade for a low budget and ASPCA for exam fees with no upper age limit.
How much is pet insurance for a dog?
The U.S. average for an accident-and-illness policy was $836 a year, about $70 a month, in 2025. Insurers publish typical prices from about $10 to $70 a month, depending on breed, age, location and settings.
Which pet insurance covers exam fees?
ASPCA and Fetch include exam fees; Fetch reimburses up to $250 a visit. Embrace and Lemonade offer them as an add-on, and Trupanion and Healthy Paws don’t cover them.
Which pet insurance has no upper age limit for dogs?
ASPCA and Fetch list no upper enrollment age. Embrace offers full coverage to dogs under 15 and accident-only coverage after that, and Trupanion requires enrollment before age 14.
Which dog insurance is best for knee (ACL) problems?
Look for a short or waivable orthopedic wait and read the bilateral rule. Fetch waives its 6-month wait for knee injuries after an exam, Embrace shortens its 180-day wait with an early exam, and Lemonade’s orthopedic wait is 30 days. A knee problem that started before coverage is excluded at all six insurers.
Is a per-condition deductible better than an annual one?
For a dog with one long-term illness, often yes: Trupanion’s per-condition deductible is paid once for that condition’s lifetime. An annual deductible works better if your dog tends to have several small, unrelated problems in a year.
Do premiums go up as my dog gets older?
Usually, yes. Trupanion says its rate won’t rise just because your pet ages, though it can change with local vet costs. Ask each insurer how its prices change with age.
What is the best pet insurance for a puppy?
Any of the six can work if you enroll before a problem appears. Compare orthopedic waiting periods first: Lemonade’s is 30 days, Fetch waives its 6-month wait for knee injuries after an exam, and Embrace can shorten its 180-day window with an early orthopedic exam in some states. Fetch accepts puppies from 6 weeks.
Which pet insurance covers hip dysplasia?
All six can cover it if it first appears after your coverage starts and any waiting period ends. Healthy Paws covers it only for dogs enrolled before age 6, with a 12-month wait in most states. No insurer covers hip dysplasia that was already diagnosed or showing signs.
How we researched this
We compared Trupanion, Healthy Paws, Embrace, Lemonade, ASPCA Pet Health Insurance and Fetch using each insurer’s own website, FAQ, help center and published comparison pages, checked in September 2026. Where an insurer’s page and a third-party site disagreed, we used the insurer’s. Where a detail wasn’t published, we said so rather than guess. Market averages come from the North American Pet Health Insurance Association’s 2026 report on 2025. Prices shown are the insurers’ own published averages and examples; we didn’t create sample quotes. Terms vary by state and policy version, so check the sample policy before you buy.
How we make money: This page has no affiliate links, and no insurer pays to be included or ranked. The “best for” picks are based only on the published terms above.
Sources
- NAPHIA: State of the Industry Report 2026 highlights
- Trupanion: Dog insurance
- Trupanion: Deductibles
- Trupanion: Pricing promise
- Trupanion: When coverage begins
- Healthy Paws: Frequently asked questions
- Healthy Paws: Pet insurance comparison chart (May 2026)
- Healthy Paws: Coverage and exclusions
- Embrace: Coverage FAQ
- Embrace: How much is pet insurance
- Embrace: Orthopedic waiting period
- Lemonade: Pet insurance cost
- Lemonade: Pet insurance FAQ
- ASPCA Pet Health Insurance: Compared with Trupanion
- ASPCA Pet Health Insurance: Compared with Lemonade
- ASPCA Pet Health Insurance: Pre-existing conditions
- Fetch: Accident and illness coverage
- Fetch: Waiting period
Correction (October 22, 2026): We changed the TPLO cost from $4,000–$6,000 to $3,500–$6,000 per knee, to match our TPLO cost guide.