Best Pet Insurance for Dogs: Price and Coverage Compared

Insurance guide, not financial advice. Prices and policy terms come from public sources and change often, so check the details of your own policy. Last reviewed October 22, 2026. How we research

In this guide
  1. Quick answer
  2. How we compared them
  3. Coverage compared, side by side
  4. What dog insurance costs
  5. The six insurers in brief
  6. Which one fits your dog
  7. Best pet insurance for a puppy
  8. Best pet insurance for dogs at risk of hip dysplasia
  9. The bottom line
  10. Frequently asked questions
  11. How we researched this
  12. Sources

Quick answer

There’s no single best dog insurance; the right one depends on your dog’s age, breed and history. Based on each insurer’s published terms, these are our picks for the six most common needs. The average U.S. accident-and-illness policy for a dog cost $836 a year in 2025, about $70 a month.

Best forInsurerWhyMain catch
Long-term illness and older dogsTrupanionPer-condition deductible, 90% reimbursement, no payout limits, pays some vets at checkout, and prices don’t rise just because your dog agesNo exam fees; enroll before age 14
Unlimited payouts, simple setupHealthy PawsAnnual deductible, unlimited annual limit available, most claims processed in about 2 daysNo exam fees; hip dysplasia only if enrolled before age 6
Most built-in extrasFetchExam fees, dental disease in all adult teeth, behavioral care up to $1,000 a year; no upper age limit6-month orthopedic wait (waivable for knee injuries)
Customizing and senior dogsEmbraceDeductibles from $100 to $1,000; full coverage for dogs under 15, accident-only after180-day orthopedic wait for dogs (reducible with an exam); exam fees are an add-on
Low monthly budgetLemonadeBase policies from $10 a month, about half of claims paid instantlyNo unlimited limit; exam fees and dental are add-ons
Exam fees and no age capASPCAExam fees included, no upper enrollment age, unlimited annual limit available, 10% multi-pet discount14-day wait for accidents as well as illnesses

Last verified: October 2026. Sources: each insurer’s own website and comparison pages; NAPHIA State of the Industry 2026. Picks are our judgment from published terms, not paid placements.

Always get at least three quotes for your own dog. Prices depend on breed, age and ZIP code, so a ranking by price would be meaningless without your details.

Woman hugging her Siberian husky in a sunny park

How we compared them

We compared six major U.S. insurers on the policy terms that decide what you actually get back for a dog, using each company’s own pages. Where comparison sites disagreed with an insurer, we used the insurer’s version.

What we looked at:

  1. How the payout works: deductible type (annual or per condition), reimbursement options and annual limit.
  2. When coverage starts: accident, illness and orthopedic waiting periods, and whether an exam can shorten them.
  3. What’s excluded: exam fees, pre-existing and curable conditions, the knee and ligament rules that matter most for dogs.
  4. Who can enroll: age limits and exam requirements.
  5. Extras: dental, behavioral care, alternative therapies, wellness add-ons, multi-pet discounts.
  6. Price signals: market averages and the prices insurers publish themselves.

What we didn’t do: we didn’t collect our own quotes or invent “sample” prices, and we don’t give star ratings. Prices depend on your dog’s breed, age and ZIP code. A table of made-up quotes would mislead you more than help.

If you’re new to how deductibles, reimbursement and limits interact, start with how pet insurance works, then see our guides to deductibles, reimbursement rates and annual limits.

Coverage compared, side by side

The biggest differences are in the deductible type, exam fees and the orthopedic rules. Those three decide what you get back on the big dog bills: ER visits, knee surgery and long-term illness.

How each one pays

InsurerDeductibleReimbursementAnnual limitExam fees
TrupanionPer condition, once per lifetime; $0–$1,00090%No annual or lifetime limitNot covered
Healthy PawsAnnualSeveral options$5,000, $7,000 or unlimited (can’t be raised later)Not covered
EmbraceAnnual, $100–$1,00070%, 80% or 90%You choose; no lifetime limitOptional add-on
LemonadeAnnual: $100, $250, $500 or $75070%, 80% or 90%$5,000–$100,000; no unlimited optionOptional add-on
ASPCAAnnual: $100, $250 or $50070%, 80% or 90%Unlimited availableIncluded
FetchAnnual (most common: $300)Up to 90%Most common: $10,000Included, up to $250 per visit

When coverage starts, and what stays excluded

InsurerAccidents / illnessesOrthopedic waitCured condition covered again afterKnee and ligament ruleEnrollment age
Trupanion5 / 30 days30 daysNeverA recurrence of a pre-coverage injury is pre-existingBefore age 14
Healthy Paws15 / 15 daysHip dysplasia 12 months (30 days in 16 states)365 daysOther cruciate excluded if one was injured firstHip dysplasia covered only if enrolled before 6
EmbraceNot stated / 14 days180 days for dogs; shortened by an exam12 months (“may”)Other side excludedUnder 15 for full coverage
LemonadeNot stated / 14 days30 days12 months, most statesKnee and ligament issues never count as curedDepends on breed
ASPCA14 / 14 daysVaries by policy180 daysAny prior knee or ligament issue excludes future onesNo upper limit
FetchNone / up to 15 days6 months; waivable for knee injuries1 yearOther cruciate excluded6 weeks and up, no upper limit

Sources: Trupanion; Healthy Paws; Embrace; Lemonade; ASPCA Pet Health Insurance; Fetch; checked September 2026. Terms vary by state and policy version.

For dogs, the knee rules deserve a close look. Cruciate surgery (TPLO) costs $3,500 to $6,000 per knee, and every insurer here limits cover for a knee problem that started before the policy. See pre-existing conditions, waiting periods and how insurers handle TPLO.

What dog insurance costs

The market average for a dog was $836 a year in 2025, but the prices insurers publish range from about $10 to $70 a month, depending on breed, age, location and settings.

Price signalDogSource
U.S. average, accident and illness (2025)$836 a year (about $70 a month)NAPHIA
U.S. average, accident-only (2025)$190 a yearNAPHIA
U.S. average, insurance with wellness (2025)$1,414 a yearNAPHIA
Embrace, typical range (2026)$20–$70 a monthEmbrace
Fetch, average$35 a month (most common setup: $10,000 limit, $300 deductible, 80%)Fetch
Lemonade, average customerAbout $48 a month; base policies from $10Lemonade
Lemonade example: 4-year-old Goldendoodle, ChicagoAbout $61 a monthLemonade

Insurers’ own averages reflect their own customers and settings, so they aren’t a like-for-like comparison.

Breed changes the price a lot. Embrace published these sample monthly premiums for 3-year-old male dogs in Texas with a $5,000 annual limit (May 2025):

BreedSample monthly premium
French Bulldog$35.85
German Shepherd$23.30
Golden Retriever$23.30
Chihuahua$11.16

Source: Embrace, “How much is pet insurance.” Your price will differ with age, location, deductible and limit.

Watch what happens as your dog ages. Premiums typically rise as pets get older. Trupanion says its rate “will not increase just because your pet gets older,” though it can change with local vet costs. Ask every insurer how its prices change with age before you compare starting prices. For what drives the price, see how much pet insurance costs per month and why premiums go up.

The six insurers in brief

Trupanion: best for long-term illness and older dogs

What stands out: a per-condition deductible you pay once for your dog’s lifetime, 90% reimbursement and no annual or lifetime limit. VetDirect Pay lets participating hospitals bill Trupanion at checkout. Its pricing promise says premiums won’t rise just because your dog gets older.

Watch for: exam fees and taxes aren’t covered, the illness wait is 30 days and pre-existing conditions are never covered. Behavioral care and alternative therapies are add-ons. You need to enroll before age 14.

Healthy Paws: best for unlimited payouts with a simple setup

What stands out: an annual deductible, an unlimited annual limit option and most claims processed in about 2 days. It says it places no restrictions on hereditary and congenital conditions, includes alternative care, and cures pre-existing conditions after 365 days.

Watch for: no exam fees, a 12-month hip dysplasia wait in most states and hip dysplasia cover only for dogs enrolled before age 6. The limit you pick can never be raised.

Fetch: best for built-in extras

What stands out: exam fees (up to $250 a visit), dental disease in all adult teeth with no sublimit, and behavioral care up to $1,000 a year are included. It has no upper age limit and averages $35 a month.

Watch for: a 6-month orthopedic wait (waivable for knee injuries with an exam within 180 days), and claims that take up to about 10 days.

Embrace: best for customizing and senior dogs

What stands out: deductibles from $100 to $1,000, 70% to 90% reimbursement and full coverage for dogs under 15, with accident-only cover after that. An early orthopedic exam can cut the 180-day orthopedic wait. Wellness Rewards is an optional budgeting add-on.

Watch for: exam fees and dental are add-ons, and the orthopedic wait covers IVDD, cruciate injury, luxating patella and hip dysplasia.

Lemonade: best for a low monthly budget

What stands out: base policies from $10 a month, deductibles from $100 to $750, and about half of eligible claims paid instantly, the rest typically within 5 days.

Watch for: no unlimited annual limit, and exam fees, dental and behavioral care are add-ons. Knee and ligament problems never count as cured, and age eligibility depends on breed.

ASPCA: best for exam fees and older enrollees

What stands out: exam fees included, no upper enrollment age, an unlimited annual limit option and a 10% discount for each additional pet. A cured condition can be covered again after only 180 days.

Watch for: a 14-day wait for accidents as well as illnesses, and any knee or ligament problem before coverage excludes future ones.

Sources: each insurer’s website and published comparison pages, checked September 2026.

Which one fits your dog

Match the policy to your dog’s biggest risk, then compare prices among the two or three that fit.

Your dogWhat to prioritizeGood fitsWhy
Puppy of a large or active breedShort or waivable orthopedic wait; hip and knee coverFetch, Embrace (with the early exam), Healthy Paws (enroll before 6 for hips)Knee and hip problems are expensive and excluded if they start before coverage
Breed prone to lifelong conditionsPer-condition deductible, high or no limitTrupanion, Healthy Paws (unlimited option)One chronic condition can run for years
Senior dogNo upper age limit or a high one; predictable pricingASPCA, Fetch (no upper limit), Embrace (under 15), Trupanion (enroll before 14)Some insurers restrict older dogs; premiums often rise with age
Dog with a past problemShort “cured” period, clear knee ruleASPCA (180 days), Healthy Paws, Embrace, Lemonade, Fetch (about 12 months)Trupanion never covers pre-existing conditions
Frequent vet visitsExam fees includedASPCA, FetchExam fees are excluded at Trupanion and Healthy Paws and an add-on at Embrace and Lemonade
Tight budgetLow premium, higher deductibleLemonade, or an accident-only plan (average $190 a year)Keeps cover for big emergencies
Several petsMulti-pet discountASPCA (10% per additional pet)Savings add up across pets

Sources: insurers’ websites; NAPHIA State of the Industry 2026.

Before you buy:

  1. Get quotes from three insurers with the same deductible, reimbursement and limit.
  2. Read the sample policy’s orthopedic, bilateral and pre-existing sections.
  3. Ask how the premium changes as your dog ages.
  4. Book a vet exam in the first two weeks if it can shorten a waiting period.

If you’re still deciding whether insurance is worth it for your dog, see is pet insurance worth it, and for a cruciate-prone breed, does pet insurance cover TPLO.

Best pet insurance for a puppy

For a puppy, the best policy is the one you buy before any problem shows up. Anything your puppy has or shows signs of before coverage starts is pre-existing, and the most expensive dog conditions (hip dysplasia, knee ligament tears, slipped discs) are usually excluded if they appear during the orthopedic waiting period. So compare the orthopedic rules first and the price second. Our guide to when to get pet insurance for a puppy lines up the waiting periods with your puppy’s first year.

What to checkWhy it matters for a puppyHow the six compare
Orthopedic waiting periodHip, knee and spine problems found in this window stay excluded for lifeLemonade 30 days; Fetch 6 months, waivable for knee injuries with an exam; Embrace 180 days for IVDD, cruciate injury, luxating patella and hip dysplasia, reducible in some states with an orthopedic exam; Healthy Paws 12 months for hip dysplasia (30 days in some states)
Hip dysplasia age ruleLarge-breed puppies are the ones that need itHealthy Paws covers hip dysplasia only if your dog is enrolled before age 6; Trupanion lists hip dysplasia among covered breed conditions
Illness and accident waitsPuppies swallow things and get sick earlyFetch: no accident wait, illness up to 15 days; Healthy Paws 15 days; ASPCA 14 days for both; Lemonade 14 days for illness
Routine careVaccines and spay or neuter aren’t covered by accident-and-illness plansLemonade’s Puppy preventative package covers a routine spay or neuter, where available; most others sell wellness add-ons
Earliest enrollmentThe earlier you enroll, the less can count as pre-existingFetch from 6 weeks; check the others’ sample policies, which vary by state

Sources: Lemonade FAQ; Fetch accident and illness coverage; Embrace orthopedic waiting period; Healthy Paws FAQ; ASPCA Pet Health Insurance; Trupanion dog insurance. Last verified October 2026.

Our pick for most puppies: enroll in the first weeks, book the vet exam that shortens the orthopedic wait if your insurer offers one, and choose a reimbursement and deductible you could live with on a $5,000 bill. A puppy’s first-year spay or neuter is a planned cost, so budget for it separately: see neuter costs, spay costs and whether insurance covers spay and neuter.

Best pet insurance for dogs at risk of hip dysplasia

No insurer covers hip dysplasia that was diagnosed or showing signs before your policy started. For breeds prone to it, such as German Shepherds, Labradors and Golden Retrievers, the only way to get it covered is to insure your dog young and get through the waiting period first. Trupanion’s breed pages put a hip replacement at up to $7,000 per hip. Surgery is where the bill gets big, and dog hip dysplasia surgery costs vary most by procedure, from FHO to a total hip replacement.

InsurerHip dysplasia rule
TrupanionListed as a covered breed condition; per-condition deductible paid once; no payout limit
Healthy PawsCovered only if enrolled before age 6; 12-month waiting period for pets enrolled at age 5 or younger (30 days in some states, waivable after a full exam)
EmbraceExcluded if it appears in the first 180 days; reducible in some states with an orthopedic exam. If one hip is diagnosed after coverage starts, the other side is covered too
Lemonade30-day orthopedic waiting period
Fetch6-month orthopedic waiting period
ASPCACheck the sample policy for your state

Sources: Trupanion dog insurance; Healthy Paws FAQ; Embrace coverage FAQ and orthopedic waiting period; Lemonade FAQ; Fetch waiting period. Last verified October 2026.

Hip dysplasia often affects both hips, so read the bilateral rule too: at Embrace, for example, if one side was a problem before coverage, the other side isn’t covered either. Knees work the same way at most insurers; see pre-existing conditions and TPLO surgery cost.

The bottom line

For most dogs, the choice comes down to three questions. Do you want exam fees covered? How does the insurer treat knees and hips? Do you want a per-condition or an annual deductible? Trupanion suits long-term illness, Healthy Paws unlimited payouts, Fetch built-in extras, Embrace customization, Lemonade a low budget and ASPCA exam fees with no age cap. Get at least three quotes with the same settings and enroll while your dog is young.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best pet insurance for dogs?

It depends on your dog. Based on published terms, Trupanion is strong for long-term illness, Healthy Paws for unlimited payouts, Fetch for built-in extras such as exam fees and dental, Embrace for customization, Lemonade for a low budget and ASPCA for exam fees with no upper age limit.

How much is pet insurance for a dog?

The U.S. average for an accident-and-illness policy was $836 a year, about $70 a month, in 2025. Insurers publish typical prices from about $10 to $70 a month, depending on breed, age, location and settings.

Which pet insurance covers exam fees?

ASPCA and Fetch include exam fees; Fetch reimburses up to $250 a visit. Embrace and Lemonade offer them as an add-on, and Trupanion and Healthy Paws don’t cover them.

Which pet insurance has no upper age limit for dogs?

ASPCA and Fetch list no upper enrollment age. Embrace offers full coverage to dogs under 15 and accident-only coverage after that, and Trupanion requires enrollment before age 14.

Which dog insurance is best for knee (ACL) problems?

Look for a short or waivable orthopedic wait and read the bilateral rule. Fetch waives its 6-month wait for knee injuries after an exam, Embrace shortens its 180-day wait with an early exam, and Lemonade’s orthopedic wait is 30 days. A knee problem that started before coverage is excluded at all six insurers.

Is a per-condition deductible better than an annual one?

For a dog with one long-term illness, often yes: Trupanion’s per-condition deductible is paid once for that condition’s lifetime. An annual deductible works better if your dog tends to have several small, unrelated problems in a year.

Do premiums go up as my dog gets older?

Usually, yes. Trupanion says its rate won’t rise just because your pet ages, though it can change with local vet costs. Ask each insurer how its prices change with age.

What is the best pet insurance for a puppy?

Any of the six can work if you enroll before a problem appears. Compare orthopedic waiting periods first: Lemonade’s is 30 days, Fetch waives its 6-month wait for knee injuries after an exam, and Embrace can shorten its 180-day window with an early orthopedic exam in some states. Fetch accepts puppies from 6 weeks.

Which pet insurance covers hip dysplasia?

All six can cover it if it first appears after your coverage starts and any waiting period ends. Healthy Paws covers it only for dogs enrolled before age 6, with a 12-month wait in most states. No insurer covers hip dysplasia that was already diagnosed or showing signs.

How we researched this

We compared Trupanion, Healthy Paws, Embrace, Lemonade, ASPCA Pet Health Insurance and Fetch using each insurer’s own website, FAQ, help center and published comparison pages, checked in September 2026. Where an insurer’s page and a third-party site disagreed, we used the insurer’s. Where a detail wasn’t published, we said so rather than guess. Market averages come from the North American Pet Health Insurance Association’s 2026 report on 2025. Prices shown are the insurers’ own published averages and examples; we didn’t create sample quotes. Terms vary by state and policy version, so check the sample policy before you buy.

How we make money: This page has no affiliate links, and no insurer pays to be included or ranked. The “best for” picks are based only on the published terms above.

Sources

Correction (October 22, 2026): We changed the TPLO cost from $4,000–$6,000 to $3,500–$6,000 per knee, to match our TPLO cost guide.

Scroll to Top